About Me

Make something great 

Not because it will sell.

Not because it’s on the test.

Not because it’s your job.

Merely because you can.

This shot article from Seth Godin is my favorite words which deeply reflects my sense of life.

Since I was a child, I engendered so enormous interest in animation, such as The Lion King, first released in 1994. I have been deeply attracted by the engrossing story, characters with attitude and talent, vivid pictures and sweet music. From that time, animation became an indispensable part of my everyday life. It ignited my desire to pursue a study related fine arts. After my graduation from my primary school, I have embarked on a professional study in arts for ten years. At Dalian No. 15 High School, a nationally known art school, I systematically acquired fundamental skills in sketch, color, and both Chinese and International art development. I focused my efforts in art and design, and after graduation, I was accepted by the Luxun Academy of Fine Arts, one of the top eight arts academies in China. During the four years study of art history, theory, painting, photographing, graphic design, 2-D design ,and visual design  etc., I gradually developed a keen interest in original painting and character design, and so longed for a more profound vision to stimulate my passion and potential.

Five years ago, I have already decided to study in the US but for some reason I had to give up. The first reason is the tuition which is too high for me, I cannot afford it at that time. my family were experiencing a hard time while I was going to graduate from my college.My major in college is write and direct for film. I was also interest in 2D Animation at the same time but the department of animation was just established soon which had limited  resources of faculty and equipments. In addition, the courses were also not fit on me so I decided to mainly focus on  the filmmaking which brought a lot of fun to me and I was gradually facinated by movie cutting. Pursuing graduate study of Film and Animation (2D) has been a never-withering goal in my mind. The animation industry in my hometown was in its leanest pitch at that time. Thus I decide to move to Shanghai, the most international metropolis of China, as a video editor. Initially, I felt excited because everything is fresh to me espesially the night life which was totally arractive for young people. I thought I would stay here for a long time but my mind was definitely changed after 6 months. I did most of the video edition work for every project but got the lowest salary each month. The manger seemed to treat me as a cheap labor and he just care about the profit that the company will gain. I lost my passion from the job which was repeated day by day. I was lost my way in this city. I thought it was the time to start over for my life. There was a day, My best friend who lives in US now called me and we talked for a very long time about her life in America which reminded me of my dream to study in the US five yeas ago. I thought if the fire was still burning in my heart, I would not let it go again. I should go to America and learn what I want to do in this country which gathered a lot of different people with different culture. Until this summer when I arrived at NYC which made me feel like a dream just come true. I want to be great in this new world with my whole family and friends’ supports.

I have already stayed in Rochester for four months. It is a small village but lively and quiet.  I enjoy the warm sunshine,  fresh air as well  as the cute squirrels dancing on the grassland. I live in comfortable apartment with  kind neigoubors . I was so excited to start my new life in this place. However, everything would not always go well especially as a foreigner lived in an unfamiliar place. The biggest problem is language. Although I was always talk to people around me positively but I still cannot express what I exactly want to people. And it really took my time to understand what people said to me. I cannot even catch up with the professor of my english class . I was afraid of receiving the phone call from the bank or the insurance company because it was difficult fo me to understand what they talked about. The most funny thing was that it was difficult for me to choose the salad from the menus so I had to order the honey muster every time.

As my English class went well, I met some classmates here and also made some new friends and teachers in ELC, the problems were getting easier to deal with. In the beginning of  the Autumn, I joined a picnic with my lovely friends and teachers of ELC. We talked about culture, life and played games together which gave me an unforgettable experience  in my life. I believe RIT is the place where I can pursue my passion, realize my goals, and expand my creativity. I am confident that with great effort, motivation and commitment, my academic aspirations will be well within my reach. I hope I will apply for the VCD MFA degree of RIT next year successfully.

Author: violaartvcd

Art student who is learning English in RIT

2 thoughts on “About Me”

  1. Hello Viola
    I really impressed about article from Seth Godin.
    I thought that the article mean is not only for art but for everything.
    Especially I like this phrase “Merely because you can” .It’s simple but deep meaning.
    So now ,Sheth Godin’s article became my favourite words too!
    Thank you Viola.
    I’m looking forwered to see your next blog.

    Like

Leave a comment